• Tel: +353 1 6614412
  • EMail: info@irishpainsociety.com

Annual Scientific Meeting, ‘Call for Abstracts’ Deadline Extended

Posted in General by IPS.

Irish Pain Society’s Annual Scientific Meeting 2017

This year the Irish Pain Society’s Annual Scientific Meeting will take place on Saturday 26th August and will be held in the Bailey Allen Hall in NUI Galway.

The theme of the meeting mirrors the IASP 2017,  Global theme of ‘Pain After Surgery’. This year the meeting will include a Masterclass on Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anaesthesia as part of our meeting.

Call for Abstracts 

Below is the submission guidelines and submission form. Abstracts submissions are now invited in all areas of pain research.  Abstracts should be submitted by e-mail to info@irishpainsociety.com  by 1pm Monday 17th July. 

Authors have the opportunity to submit their research findings either for poster presentation or for short oral presentation as part of an oral datablitz symposium organised by the Irish Pain Research Network (IPRN), a Special Interest Group of the IPS.

IPS ASM 2017 Poster Final

IPS Abstract Form 2017 Final

IPS-IPRN Abstract guidelines final



Annual Scientific Meeting 2017 Photo Gallery

Posted in General by IPS.

This year’s ASM was held in the Bailey Allen Hall, NUI Galway. Thank you to all our sponsors and delegates who supported the meeting we look forward to seeing you all again next year.












Professor David Finn, IPS President, Dr Brona Fullen, Winner of the Clinical Research Prize & Mr Keith Donohue of Mundipharma who kindly sponsored the winner medals.
























Professor David Finn, Ms Sarah Jarrin , Winner of the Non  Clinical Research Prize & Mr Keith Donohue




























































Irish Pain Society Committee

L-r back row: Dr Michelle Roche, Dr Line Caes, Dr Brona Fullen, Past President Dr Hugh Gallagher, Treasurer, Ms Joanne O’Brien, new President, Dr Ray Victory, Past President, Prof Laserina O’Connor, IPS Secretary and Past President, Dr Tadhg Lynch.

L-r front row: Mr John Nealon, Dr Shelagh Wright, Prof David Finn, immediate past President, Ms Orla Doran, administrator.


Annual Scientific Meeting 2017, Programme

Posted in General by IPS.

Please find the programme and registration form for this year’s ASM in Bailey Allen Hall, NUI, Galway on Saturday 26th August.

The meeting has been awarded 6 CPD points. The registration fees are €150 for Consultants, €100 NCHDs & GPs, €50 Basic Scientists/Researchers & Allied Healthare Professionals and €25 for Students.

The programme includes a Masterclass on Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anaesthesia. If you would like to attend the masterclass, please email info@irishpainsociety.com to reserve your place.

If you wish to register please return your completed form below to:

info@irishpainsociety.com or post to Ms Orla Doran; c/o Irish Pain Society, 22 Denzille Lane, Dublin 2

IPS ASM 2017 Programme

IPS ASM 2017 Word Doc Registration Form

IPS Newsletter Issue 2

Posted in General by IPS.

Below is the  second issue of our new IPS Newsletter.

We hope that you enjoy reading the latest edition of the newsletter and would welcome any feedback or suggestions for content that might be included in future issues.

Prof. David Finn

IPS President

IPS Newsletter Issue 2 June 2017

Pain Alliance Europe (PAE) Survey

Posted in General by IPS.

Pain Alliance Europe (PAE), the pan-European patients’ organization representing patients with pain-related conditions, has launched an European-wide survey on health issues related to chronic pain, available in several languages.  PAE are one of our key partners at European level, and have member organizations in most European countries.

An introduction to this survey and a link to the list of languages can be found on https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/PAE-English

The outcome of the survey will be analyzed and the results will be used to raise more awareness among politicians and policy makers.

European Pain Federation EFIC